State of Balance Part Two – Dosha



“Getting to know and appreciate your dosha is key to knowing yourself. It provides clues for what you should eat and what things you should address when your energy gets out of whack. The more you know about what may cause certain reactions or tendencies, the easier it will be to balance them.”

Chef Johnny Brannigan 


In Part One we had a little look at what Ayurveda is,  here in Part Two, I briefly introduce you to it’s main concept of  Dosha. 






We may be familiar with the five elements of Earth, Air, Fire, Water, and Ether.

Astrologically, and in the Tarot, we also adhere to these elements:


Fire Signs: Sagittarius, Leo, and Aries.

Tarot Suit: Wands


Water Signs: Cancer, Pisces, and Scorpio.

Tarot Suit: Cups


Earth Signs: Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn.

Tarot Suit: Pentacles


Air Signs: Libra, Aquarius, and Gemini.

Tarot Suit: Swords


Dosha, is our own unique blend of these elements:

Vata – Air/Space

Pitta – Fire/Water

Kapha – Earth/Water.


We will all have a percentage of each of the three Doshas within us.


I for instance hold 50% Kapha, 30% Pitta and 20% Vata.


So my primary Dosha is Kapha.


There are many tests available on the internet that will help you work out what your particular combination of Dosha is.


This one is my favourite.


Take the test if you’d like, and meet me in Parts 3,4 and 5 of this blog series, for a more in-depth look at each one, including the best diets, and exercise.


Bearing in mind how much you hold of each element, this should help you with balancing techniques.

Much love Txx


4 thoughts on “State of Balance Part Two – Dosha

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s